Religious Leaders Sign Declaration on FGM


We, the signatories, recognise that:

  1. Female Genital Mutilation, in all its types, is a grave violation of the rights of girls and women.
  2. Female Genital Mutilation is child abuse and a violation of a child’s bodily integrity as well as their right to health.
  3. Female Genital Mutilation can have serious consequences for a woman’s health and in some instances can lead to death.
  4. Female Genital Mutilation is not a religious requirement. Causing harm and distress is not condoned by our faith.


Chief Rabbi Ephraim Mirvis – Chief Rabbi of the United Hebrew Congregations of the Commonwealth.

Loretta Minghell – Christian Aid, Chief Executive.

Amin Mawji – President, Ismaili Community UK

Julian Bond – Christian Muslim Forum

Archbishop Doyé Agama – President, Apostolic Pastoral Congress

Dr Desmond Biddulph – Vice President , Buddhist Society

Lyndon Bowring – CARE Executive Director

Malcolm Deboo – President,Zoroastrian Europe

Abu Bakr Mohammad – Chairman, North London Somali Bravanese community

Mr Mustapha Akande – Leader, Union of Muslim Organisations

Mrs Azizat Adefesobi – Leader, Al-Taqwah Nigerian  Islamic Centre

Mukhtar Behi – Chairman , Somali Relief and Development Forum

Mirza Waqas Ahmad – National Youth President, Ahmadiyya Youth Muslim Association

Philip Mounstephen – Executive Leader, Church Mission Society

Qari Muhammad Asim – Imam, Makkah Masjid, Leeds

Rafiq Hayat – National President, Ahmadiyya Muslim Association

Christina Rees – Church of England, Archbishop’s Council

Reverend Alastair Redfern – Bishop of Derby

Satish K Sharma – General Secretary, National Council of Hindu Temples

Shaista Gohir MBE – Chair , Muslim Women’s Network UK

Dr Natubhai Shah – Chair, Jain Network

John Glass – Elin Pentacostal Churches, General Superintendent

Steve Clifford – Evangelical Alliance General Director

Suleman Nagdi – Federation of Muslim Organisations

Rev. Rachel Carnegie – Co-Director, Anglican Alliance

Veena O’Sullivan – We Will Speak Out Chair

Imam Ataul Mujeeb Rashe – Imam of The London Mosque, Ahmadiyya Muslim Community

Dr Musharraf Hussain OBE – Chief Imam,Karimia Institute

Khalid Omar – Eritrean Community in the UK

Dr Elaine Storkey – Tearfund President

National Spiritual Assembly of the Bahá’is of the  UK

Chris Russell – Advisor to Archbishop of Canterbury

Bishop Simon Iheanacho – UK World Evangelism Trust

Shiban Akbar OBE – Chairman of the Social Affairs Committee, Muslim Council of Britain

Timothy John Kakin – Bishop of Winchester

Anne Marie Wilson – 28 Too Many

Anne & John Coles – New Wine

Rabbi Natan Levy – Prominent Rabbi

Aina Khan – Muslim Family Law Expert

 Ayatollah Sayed Milani – Al Khoei Foundation

Rev. Celia Apeagyei-Collins – CEO, The Rehoboth Foundation

Bishop Dr Joe Aldred – Churches Together in England

Bishop Michael Ipgrave – Bishop of Woolwich

                                                                                      …plus over 200 more


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *